The Colloseum Tells All

28 Oct

From the ancient roman times to present day, the Colloseum opens up about his past, present and future. 

Thank you so much for meeting with me today. I am extremely excited to learn more about your story.

It is my pleasure, I know it is not everyday someone gets to speak with something that is over 1900 years old.

What year were you built?

Construction began in 72 AD and was finished in 80 AD. It is thought that I am the best work of roman architecture and engineering of all time.

Wow, that is quite impressive that you are still standing here today. What are you made out of?

 I am built out of concrete and stone, making me able to last a lifetime. I became damaged, damn earthquakes got me, but I intend to last many years to come.

You must have seen quite a lot over the years, how has your role changed?

 Well back in the days of ancient Rome I was used for entertainment. Those were the best of times for me. I would be filled with as many as 50,000 people. Gladiator fights, dramas, executions even reenactment of famous battles were held inside me. It was never boring, that is for sure! Then in the medieval era my life became a lot less exciting. I was used more for odds and ends like housing people and as a place for religious quarters. It was not nearly as exciting as roman times.

What about now? What is your life like?

Well, I am still incredibly popular. I am one of the most famous tourist attractions in Italy. People come from all over the world to see and admire me.

How do you like the shift from active theatre to tourist attraction?

I don’t mind the attention of people taking my pictures. I enjoy hearing people exclaim at how beautiful I am. I do however miss the action of hosting gladiator fights and such. It seems to me that gladiators do not even fight each other any more. I would love to bring that back.

Bring back gladiator fights?

Why yes. The fights were so entertaining.

So other than the gladiator fights, what plans do you have for the future?

Just as I mentioned above with the fights, I would like to bring some action back to this place. I am talking about holding dramas, gladiator fights and maybe even some movies.

It sounds like you show no intention of slowing down!

 Not at all, I may be 1932 years old but I have a lot of years left. I was constructed to last forever and that is what I plan to do.

Well, that is good to hear! Thank you for meeting with me today, and I wish you the best of luck with your future plans.

Thank you, it was my pleasure.

Leave a comment